webinar register page

Innovation Challenge Webinar: Showcase of newsroom tools that advance diversity, equity and inclusion
Tuesday, Feb. 15 at
1 p.m. ET / Noon CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT

See inside the projects at Santa Clara University and Gannett Co., which focus on addressing diversity, equity and inclusion with innovative newsroom tools.

Santa Clara University created a Source Diversity Dashboard and tools for reporters and newsrooms to view source-diversity proportions in real-time for both draft stories and published articles. The CMS plugin aims to help reporters visualize source-diversity proportions for quotes. Additionally a web monitor application will offer the same visualizations at the site level. Unlike one-time manual audits, the tools offer near on-demand feedback to ease barriers to assessing stories’ representativeness, and provide immediate opportunities to fix inequitable reporting. Subbu Vincent, director, journalism and media ethics, at the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics, and Yi Fang, associate professor in the department of computer science and engineering will demonstrate the dashboard and web monitor prototype for a sample of U.S. sites, and share more about how the tools were built.

Gannett Co. built the Content Diversity Dashboard to help local newsrooms avoid gaps in coverage and build trust within diverse communities. The dashboard uses geo-location tied to local content, and provides journalists with data displayed in a dashboard — which includes a map of content at the neighborhood, county and state level, as well as author and content analysis. Census data is incorporated to provide further context of the diversity in each neighborhood. Users can filter results in the dashboard to see content mapped from the entire newsroom, their team, or their own content. Rachel Kilroy, project manager on Gannett’s content innovation team, will share how they have successfully partnered with 10 newsrooms across the USA Today Network to act as Beta users, and start adding geographic tags to content.

The webinar is free to attend.

01:01:00

* Required information
Loading